About Us

Welcome to the National Alliance of Artists from Historical Black Colleges and Universities. NAAHBCU is a non-profit professional organization that educates, promotes artists and art programs within Historical Black Colleges and Universities. Our mission is to bring art and art education to the forefront of member institutions and to keep these programs as institutional priorities for generations to come. The arts remain venerable in the education system and we are a force that discusses and reacts to issues facing HBCU institution artists and students. We welcome you to contact us for exhibitions, lectures, and workshops. 



Peggy Blood, Ph.D.
President, NAAHBCU

Tribute to Renoir_The New Luncheon at th

Our History


The National Alliance of Artists was founded on May 19, 2000, on the campus of Morris Brown College in Atlanta, Georgia.


From the eleven (11) Charter Members, the organization has grown to include more than 60 exceptionally talented visual artists from various parts of the country. However, our goal is not embedded in numbers, but in current and quality art production, and for the desire for artists to gain exposure as teachers, scholars, and mentors to the promising art majors attending our HBCUs. By the same token, our undertaking is even broader. Historically, art programs at HBCUs have worked independently of each other, holding exhibits, confronting local issues, training students, and preparing curriculums. Conversely, our group remains close, meets annually to share information about current technology and scholarships, and re-introduce present and past art legends who have established traditions at our great institutions.

Our Mission


The NAAHBCU is an organization of artists and professors from HBCUs with a mission to bring Art and Art Education to the forefront of member institutions and to keep these programs as institutional priorities for generations to come. The Alliance is committed to developing in its members, and especially students, the artistic and life skills needed to function as literate citizens in the society of today and in the future. The NAAHBCU also provides comprehensive activities that offer artistic and expressive opportunities for professional artists employed or formerly employed at member institutions as well as for historians and curators, collectors, and friends of the arts.

KJ's Shot -31.JPG

Our Published Textbook

Below the Surface.png

Below the Surface:

Ethnic Echoes in America's Modern and Contemporary Art

Author(s): Peggy BloodLee Ransaw

Edition: 1

Copyright: 2014

Pages: 306

Our Institution Representation


Alabama State University

Albany State University 
Bowie State University 
Univ. of Arkansas at Pine Bluff 
Fort Valley State University 
Savannah State University 
Southern University A & M College 
Southern University at New Orleans 
Jackson State University 
North Carolina A & T State Univ. 
Winston-Salem State University 
Central State University 
Prairie View A&M University 
Virginia State University 
Stillman College 
Tuskegee University 
Clark Atlanta University 
Morehouse College 
Morgan State University 
Morris Brown College 
Dillard University 
Xavier University of LA 
Tougaloo College 
Johnson C. Smith University 
Claflin University 
Lemoyne-Owen College 
Howard University


Our Membership and Intent to Exhibit Forms


Click Here to Download

Membership Form

Click Here to Download

Intent to Exhibit Form